General October check-in

Content note: Food, mental illness.

I know I said something about getting the Halloween stuff together and posting it but it looks like it’s not happening this year. Sorry, everyone. 🤦‍♀️

I’ve been grousing for a bit about not getting any kind of real rest. Recently, I got a few days off. It was lowkey and wonderful. On the day after I got back, I made a list of all the stuff—realistically? chores—I did on my last day. The list was longer than I expected. I didn’t even get everything. It reinforced something I realized last year (or maybe the year before). Every time I think I’m being lazy, it turns out I’ve done a long string of things.

One of the things I didn’t get done was sourdough. I pulled my starter out the day before and it didn’t perk up. Like at all. Still bubbly but it didn’t do anything for a few days of feeding. I finally fed it whole wheat and it perked up today.

A friend with way more sourdough experience than I have suggested I use a 5050 combination of rye and all purpose (AP) flour. The rye flour is on the way.

I think the lethargy happened because I put it in the fridge too soon after feeding. I didn’t even know you were supposed to wait until just before I put it in the fridge the most recent time. Getting away with it until then and suddenly having an issue after I “knew better” is just one of those silly coincidences life is made of.

My attempts to decide on a novel are not going well. Of the two front-runners, I have a plot but no characters on one and characters with major plot gaps on the other. Third in line doesn’t need a big plot but it’s a comedy and with everything going on, I know I don’t feel up to writing comedy.

Maybe I should anyway but I don’t really have the spoons for it right now.

I finished the practice story. I’m burning writing energy editing it while I try to figure out what to do for my next novel. It was neat seeing all those words come together in such a relatively short period of time. But now I’m restless for something else to write.

About Eve Ingoldsby
You can reach me at https://octodon.social/@EveHasWords